The 2015/16 season brought great success to OURLFC with the Blues finishing second in Midlands 1A with a strong 5 game unbeaten streak to finish the league. Similarly, the Maroons took apart every team put in front of them from day one, coming out top of their league with two games in hand and strong favourites to do the double towards the end of Hilary.

The consistent performances have really highlighted the strength of the squad this year with playing numbers at an all time high. With many returners, the club is in great shape for next season with both teams looking to continue and build on the success that the BUCS leagues have brought them. With over 40 students looking for selection on a weekly basis, cutting the squad down to only two Varsity Teams has caused its fair share of headaches for the coaches and committee.

With some tough decisions being made, Blues Captain, James Clark, has selected two very strong sides to take the fields in their respective Varsities and is confident that they will be bringing home two big wins. The following 22-man Blues Squad is to be cut down to a final 19-man match day squad following this weekend’s friendly against Sheffield. With energy in the club barely contained, this should make for an exciting couple of weeks with some rugby to be played. Roll on Varsity.



Josh Ames Blackaby (Wadham)

Jordan Ayling (Magdalen)

Alex Babb (SPC)

Sam Bainbridge (St Catz)*

Tom Bradley (Queens)*

Matt Brady (SPC)

James Clark (BNC)* (c)

Gareth Davies (Wadham)*

Yoni Dennis (Wadham)*

Mark Giza (Queens)*

Will Henshall (Wadham)*

Jack Holmes (Worcester)

Zac Keane (Mansfield)

Sven Kerneis (SPC)

Jake Langmead-Jones (Worcester)

Phil Maffettone (CCC)

Conor McCleary (BNC)*

Mark Roper (New)

Tolly Rose (New)

Dan Smith (Somerville)

James Smith (Kellogg)*

Mike Woyton (Worcester)



Luke Ames Blackaby (St Hilda’s)

Olu Arikesola (Trinity)

Paul Blanchard (GTC)

Finlay Burnett Small (Balliol)

Jack Curran (Worcester)

Rory Farquharson (St Bennett’s)

Sam Hancock (Queens)

James Hayley (BNC)

Robin Jones (St Hilda’s)

Sam King (Wadham)

Matt Lewis (Queens)*

Joe Mash (Queens)

Angus McCance (SPC)

Lawrence Middleton (SPC)

Will Taverner (BNC)

Vincent Vedovato (Wolfson)

Joe Welford (Queens)

Will Wilson (Univ)

Jonny Wood (St Hilda’s)

Henry Woods (St Catz)


* Denotes returning Blue